2016 Committee Chair Appointments

The new GAFP President, Dr. Mitzi Rubin, has been hard at work on committee appointments for next year.  She has appointed all Committee Chairs, Vice Chairs and Co-Chairs and they are listed here:


Chair – Alice House MD – Columbus

Education & Research                                                  

Chair – Susana Alfonso MD – Tucker

Vice Chair – Gurinder Doad MD – Albany

Finance Committee                                                       

Chair – Jeff Stone MD – Dallas

Vice Chair – Sharon Rabinovitz MD – Atlanta

Legislative Committee                                                 

Co-Chair – Bruce LeClair MD – Evans

Co-Chair – Rick Wherry  MD – Dahlonega

Membership Committee                                                            

Co-Chair – James Hagler MD – Buena Vista

Co-Chair – Tom Fausett MD – Adel

Vice Chair – Ivy Smith, MD – Newnan

PAC Board                                                          

Chair – Wayne Hoffman MD – Atlanta

Vice Chair – James Lemley MD – Thomson

Practice Management                                                  

Chair – W. Steven Wilson MD – Warner Robins

Vice Chair – Michael Satchell MD – Albany

Public Health                                                   

Chair – David Westfall MD – Gainesville

Vice Chair – Sherma Peter MD – Sylvania

Student and Resident                                                   

Chair Julie Dahl-Smith DO – Augusta

Vice Chair – Kevin Johnson MD – Lawrenceville


Congratulations to these leaders!

The GAFP thanks the leaders who are willing to devote time to advance family medicine in Georgia.  GAFP Committee appointments are currently underway, however, there is still availability to serve in 2016.  If you are interested in joining a committee, please contact Alesa McArthur, Chief Operating Officer – Phone:  800.392.3841 and email: amcarthur@gafp.org.

The first Committee Conclave of the year is the weekend of March 5-6, 2016 at Callaway Gardens in Pine Mountain, GA.