GAFP 2015 Student and Resident Awards

Congratulations to the 2015 recipients of the T. A. Sappington Award. This prestigious award is given to student members who have demonstrated their commitment to family medicine by choosing to attend a Georgia Family Medicine Residency Program.

This year we recognize:

  • Rebecca Doris Jones from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine in Suwanee who is planning to attend the Atlanta Medical Center Family Medicine Residency Program.
  • John McCaskey from the Medical College of Georgia at GRU Augusta who plans to attend the Floyd Family Medicine Residency Program in Rome.
  • Shad Stormant from Mercer University School of Medicine who be attending the Medical School of Central Georgia Family Medicine Residency Program in Macon.
  • Davon Thomas from the Morehouse School of Medicine who will attend the Atlanta Medical Center Family Medicine Residency Program in Atlanta.
  • Amethyst Wilder from the Mercer University School of Medicine in Savannah who will be attending the Memorial Health Family Medicine Residency Program in Savannah.

Best of luck to the Sappington winners as they transition to residency programs in Georgia.

Congratulations goes out to Phil Carter, MD, who was voted to be the GAFP Resident of the Year for his hard work and dedication to family medicine at Floyd Family Medicine Residency Program.  According to Dr. Frank DonDiego, his Program Director, Dr. Carter performs in the top 20% of his class, is rated very highly as a teacher by the medical student rotation as well as by other residents, and he is the resident with the highest in-training exam score for his class each year.

Dr. Carter is also highly involved in the community in that he volunteers at the Rome Free Clinic, participates in sports physicals at the local high schools and participates as the sideline physician for one of the local high schools.  And, that’s just local to the Rome area.  Dr. Carter serves on GAFP’s Board of Directors as a Resident Board Member in his second year, and is active on the Student and Resident Committee this year.  Last, but most certainly not least, he has attended the AAFP National Conference for Students and Residents as the Rome residency representative for the past two years.

This year, the GAFP Keith Ellis Award winner for Chief/Co-Chief Resident goes to Jason Varghese, MD from the Medical College of Georgia at GRU Family Medicine Residency Program in Augusta, who, according to his Program Director, Dr. Julie Dahl-Smith, devotes outstanding leadership skills in Family Medicine both at GRU and in the community.  She states that “he is held in highest regard by the community, patients, peers and faculty.  Truly an outstanding resident!”

Among his many activities and accomplishments other than chief resident includes his work with the Resident Recruitment Committee, Quality Assurance Committee, Electronic Health Records Task Force, Program Educational Committee and the Resident Support Group.  He attended the AAFP’s Chief Resident Leadership Conference as well.  Congratulations, Dr. Varghese!