GAFP Members Recognized at Annual Meeting in November for 2015 Contributions to Family Medicine

At the GAFP Annual Scientific Assembly in early November at the Westin Buckhead, several individuals were awarded the GAFP top honors for 2015.

Dr. Foloshade Omole (left) accepting her award from Dr. George Shannon (right)

Two awards were given out at the George Shannon Leadership Series lecture luncheon on Saturday, November 7 by Dr. Shannon himself.  Folashade Omole, MD of Marietta was the winner of the 2015 GAFP Family Physician of the Year Award.  Dr. Omole, currently a Professor, Series 1 at Morehouse School of Medicine, practices the full scope of Family Medicine including prenatal and delivery care through care of the elderly.  In addition, Dr. Omole has been a member of the GAFP since 2000 and most recently served on the Board of Directors as Treasurer from 2012 through 2014.

Dr.George Shannon (left) presenting Dr. Fred Girton (right) with the GAFP Family Medicine Educator of the Year Award.

Fred Girton MD, of St. Simons Island, GA was the winner of the GAFP Family Medicine Educator of the Year Award.  A GAFP member for 38 years, Dr. Girton served as GAFP President from 2001-2002 and also served on the GAFP Board of Directors for much of this time.  Recently retired from Mercer University’s School of Medicine, Dr. Girton most recently served as Professor and Chair of the Family Medicine Department at Mercer University.


Dr. Rick Wherry (left) and Dr. Bruce LeClair (middle) with outgoing President Dr. Wayne Hoffman (right)

Drs. Bruce LeClair of Evans and Rick Wherry of Dahlonega jointly received a President’s Award from outgoing President Dr. Wayne Hoffman for the work they did this past year during the Legislative Session and their years of advocacy for Georgia’s family physicians and our patients.

Dr. Hoffman also gave a President’s Award to his partner, Tom Torrey, for his support this year during his presidential term at the Executive Committee dinner on Thursday evening.

Finally, during the Friday night Welcome Reception, two residents received their awards as well.

Dr. Phil Carter (left) accepting his award from Dr. Leonard Reeves (right). 


Dr. Leonard Reeves (left) presenting Dr. Jason Varghese (right) with his award.

Phil Carter, MD from the Floyd Family Medicine Residency Program was the Resident of the Year, and Jason Varghese, MD was the winner of the 2015 Keith Ellis Award as an outstanding Chief Resident.