GAFP President, Loy D. “Chip” Cowart MD, announces committee appointments for next year

2017 Committee Chair Appointments

The new GAFP President, Loy D. “Chip” Cowart MD, has been hard at work on committee appointments for next year.  He has appointed all Committee Chairs, Vice Chairs and Co-Chairs and they are listed here:


Chair – Alice House MD – Columbus

Vice Chair – Howard McMahan MD – Ocilla

Education & Research                                   

Chair – Theresa Jacobs MD – Conyers

Vice Chair – Ken Howard MD – Rome

Finance Committee                                        

Chair – Sharon Rabinovitz MD – Decatur

Vice Chair –  Christina Kelly MD – Richmond Hill

Legislative Committee                                   

Co-Chair – Bruce LeClair MD – Evans

Co-Chair – Rick Wherry MD – Dahlonega

Membership Committee                                            

Chair – Michelle Cooke MD – Atlanta

Vice Chair – Ivy Smith MD – Hapeville

PAC Board                                        

Chair – Eddie Richardson MD – Eatonton

Vice Chair –  Monica Newton DO – Gainesville

Practice Management                                    

Chair – Jay Goberdhan MD – Adel

Vice Chair – Michael Satchell MD – Albany

Public Health                                     

Chair – Jay Floyd MD – Brunswick

Vice Chair – Sherma Peter MD – Sylvania

Student and Resident                                     

Chair –  Julie Dahl-Smith DO – Augusta

Vice Chair – Kevin Johnson MD – Lawrenceville

Congratulations to these leaders!

The GAFP thanks the leaders who are willing to devote time to advance family medicine in Georgia.  GAFP Committee appointments are currently underway, and there is still availability to serve in 2018.  If you are interested in joining a committee, please contact Ciera Mitchell, Office Manager – Phone:  800.392.3841 or email:

The first Committee Conclave of the year is the weekend of March 3-4, 2018 at the Westin Perimeter in Atlanta.