Were You a Part of History? More than 170 Attended the 2018 Summer Family Medicine Weekend!

June 14-17, 2018 marked the GAFP’s first joint meeting with the Georgia Primary Care Association (GPCA).  This year we hosted more than 170 family physicians, FQHC/CHC members and other health care professionals at Omni Amelia Island Beach Resort.

With an expansive number of lectures and workshops, attendees were able to claim as many as 35 AAFP prescribed credits on a wide variety of topics pertinent to the broad range of practice needs of our members.  All AAFP CME credits will be posted July 15th. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact Megan Neuffer at mneuffer@gafp.org.

In addition to lectures and workshops, the GAFP offered three Knowledge Self-Assessment Modules (KSAs) in an effort to fulfill the Maintenance of Certification Part II – Self-Assessment and Lifelong Learning.  More than 40 family physicians successfully completed the modules.

We also hosted an Alliant Quality Workshop – Double the Credit! Designing your Improvement Activity to meet MIPS and Maintenance of Certification, which was facilitated by Dr. Adrienne Mims, and included faculty from Alliant GMCF (the State’s QIO), and Shana Scott, MPH, JD from the Department of Public Health.

Overall, attendees deemed the meeting a success and offered the following comments on their post-meeting evaluations:

  • Amelia Island is one of our favorite spots for the GAFP Summer Meeting. Thanks for putting together another great event!
  • The food was excellent and healthy.
  • The topics and speakers were phenomenal this year!
  • Great time, location, and information.
  • Everyone was very friendly and happy to provide information.

The meeting’s success was based on the hard work, time, and effort of the Education & Research Committee.  The 2018 Committee members are Theresa Jacobs, MD – Chair; Ken Howard, MD – Vice Chair; Dolapo Babalola, MD; Karla Booker, MD; Mike Busman, MD; Wanda Gumbs, MD; Johnathan Gore, MD; Ambar Kulshrestha, MD; Evelyn Lewis & Clark, MD; Carl McCurdy, MD; Yuan-Xiang Meng, MD; Adrienne Mims, MD; Viktoria Nurpeisov, MD; Harry Strothers, MD; and Blair Funk, MD – resident.

Mark your calendars now with the dates of the 2018 Annual Scientific Assembly!  This year’s Annual Meeting will be held Thursday, November 8 – Saturday, November 10 at the Marriott Evergreen in Stone Mountain. We look forward to seeing you there!