Reminder about New Member Benefit – Resident Employment Contract Review Options

The Georgia Academy of Family Physicians Board of Directors has launched a program which allows all GAFP resident members who plan to practice to have their employment contracts reviewed by an attorney from The Sanders Law Firm, P.C. (  This benefit is especially important for GAFP residents who intend to remain in Georgia upon graduation from their respective residency programs: GAFP will pay for the legal review of the contract!  If the resident has made the (unfortunate) decision to leave Georgia, GAFP has negotiated a reduced rate that the resident can pay directly to The Sanders Law Firm, P.C.

To be eligible:

1.    You must be a current member of the AAFP/GAFP.

2.    You must be enrolled as a PGY3 in training at a Georgia family medicine residency program.

3.    You must contact The Sanders Law Firm P.C. directly (it maintains a list of GAFP Resident members):

Phone: (404) 364-1819

Mr. Sanders has over eighteen years of experience reviewing employment agreements between physicians and their employers.

Richard D. Sanders represents a variety of healthcare providers on a broad range of issues, including business transactions, fraud and abuse compliance (Anti-Kickback Statute and Stark), Certificate of Need (CON) issues, medical staff credentialing, Medicare reimbursement, antitrust policy, and legislative activities. He also assists providers in their relationships with federal and state regulatory agencies.  After graduating from Duke University in 1992 with a double-major in political science and history, Rich earned his Juris Doctor degree from the Emory University School of Law in 1996. In 2013, Rich was rated as a “Top Rated Lawyer in HealthCare Law” and has a AV Preeminent® peer review rating from Martindale-Hubbell™.

Richard D. Sanders, Esq.

The Sanders Law Firm, P.C.
7 Piedmont Center, Suite 300
3525 Piedmont Road
Atlanta, Georgia 30305
(404) 364-1819
(866) 871-2238 Fax

Named to Best Lawyers in America- Healthcare 2010-2015