Awards & Accolades

The Georgia Academy of Family Physicians (GAFP) honors members exemplifying excellence in the practice of family medicine and for their national, state chapter and community-based leadership roles and contributions to clinical research and health care.

2023 Awards Criteria Nomination Information

Note: All nominations must be submitted with the following items:

  • Nomination Application
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Recommendations Letter (if applicable)


Student & Resident Awards: Deadline April 18

Family Medicine Resident of the Year

Awarded to the resident who exhibits dedication to family medicine through leadership and involvement in his/her residency program and in the community.

Keith Ellis, MD Resident Scholarship Award

Given to a Chief Resident or Co-Chief Resident who displays excellent leadership skills in their family medicine residency program.

T.A. Sappington Award

This prestigious award is given to student members who have demonstrated their commitment to family medicine by choosing to attend a Georgia Family Medicine Residency Program.

Active Physician Awards: Deadline May 16

Family Medicine Physician of the Year

The highest award bestowed on a GAFP member recognizes excellence in peer leadership in professional affairs and outstanding contributions to family medicine and to the community. Past recipients include…

2022 Mitch Cook, DO (Athens)
2021 Bonzo Reddick, MD (Pooler)
2020 Beulette Hooks, MD (Midland)
2019 Alice House, MD (Midland)
2018 Eddie Richardson, Jr., MD (Eatonton)
2017 Samuel β€œLe” Church, MD (Hiawassee)
2016 Paul Forney, MD (Augusta)
2015 Folashade Omole, MD (East Point)
2014 William F. Bina, MD (Macon)
2013 Harry S. Strothers, III, MD (East Point)
2012 Howard McMahan, MD (Ocilla)
2011 James Leon Ray, MD (Swainsboro)
2010 Michael S. Busman, MD (Americus)
2009 Bruce M. LeClair, MD (Evans)
2008 Jack Roof, Jr., MD (Blue Ridge)
2007 Ferrol Sams, MD (Fayetteville)
2006 Roslyn D. Taylor, MD (Savannah)
2005 Sidney J. Morgan, MD (Sylvania)
2004 J. Larry Boss, MD (Villa Rica)
2003 Don Waters, MD (Blackshear)
2002 Asbury Clark Robinson, MD (Douglas)
2001 Tanya Jones, MD (Atlanta)
2000 Winnie Claire Hicks, MD (Jesup)
1999 Laurence Crimmins, MD (Albany)
1998 Cyler Garner, MD (Gordon)
1997 George Shannon, MD (Columbus)
1996 John Antalis, MD (Dalton)
1995 Catherine Andrews, MD (Kennesaw)
1994 S. Catherine Huggins, MD (Stone Mountain)
1993 Keith Ellis, MD (Savannah)
1992 Richard Wherry, MD (Dahlonega)
1991 Robin Fine, MD (Atlanta)
1990 Dwana Bush, MD (Atlanta)
1989 Charles Lanford, MD (Macon)
1988 Lanny Copeland, MD (Albany)
1987 John Heard, MD (Decatur)
1986 Henry Smith, MD (Swainsboro)
1985 A.A. McNeil, Jr., MD (Camilla)
1984 G.H. Perrow, MD (Jasper)
1983 Frank Houser, MD (Macon)
1982 H. Gordon Davis, MD (Sylvester)
1981 Abraham Germain, MD (Jonesboro)
1980 Charles Hillis, MD (Lafayette)
1979 Emory Bohler, MD (Brooklet)
1978 Wells Riley, MD (Jonesboro)
1977 James Dismuke, MD (Adel)
1976 John Bell, MD (Dublin)
1975 William Mendenhall, MD (Dekalb)
1974 Ollie McGahee, MD (Jesup)
1973 Robert Walter, MD (Calhoun)

Community and Volunteer Service Award

Awarded to a member who excels in service to their community and makes outstanding contributions in welfare, education, health, government, or the arts. Past recipients include…

2021 Andrea Videlfsky, MD (Dunwoody)
2020 Michael Busman, MD (Americus) & Eddie Richardson, Jr., MD (Eatonton)
2019 Folashade Omole, MD (Atlanta)
2018 Bruce M. LeClair, MD, MPH (Augusta)
2015 Jonathan Mitch Cook, DO (Athens)
2014 David N. Westfall, MD (Gainesville)
2013 James Hagler, MD (Buena Vista)
2012 Linda Inez Walden, MD (Cairo)
2011 Bidemi Olaniyi-Leyimu, MD (Newnan)
2008 Lynn Taylor Denny, MD (Macon)
2007 Freddy Gaton, MD (Roberta)
2006 Kathy Klein Keebaugh, MD (Kathleen)

Family Medicine Educator of the Year

This award is bestowed on a deserving member who has been a leader in academic, community and professional affairs, along with making outstanding contributions to the profession or the community. Past recipients include…

2022 Riba Kelsey, MD (Atlanta)
2021 Monica Newton, DO (Gainesville)
2020 Julie Dahl-Smith, DO (Augusta)
2019 Dolapo Babalola, MD (Atlanta)
2018 Charles Sow, MD (Atlanta)
2017 John Bucholtz, DO (Columbus)
2016 Philip Rogers, MD (Atlanta)
2015 Fred S. Girton, MD (St. Simons)
2014 Emily Herndon, MD (Atlanta)
2013 Bruce LeClair, MD (Evans)
2012 Susan Schayes, MD, MPH (Atlanta)
2011 Gregory Strayhorn, MD (Atlanta)
2009 Daryl C. Wiley, MD (Thompson)
2008 Jonathan E. Reimer, MD (Augusta)
2007 Eddie Needham, MD (Atlanta)
2006 Folashade Omole, MD (Marietta)
2005 Charles Gary Lodge, MD (Moultrie)
2004 Frank L. Carter, MD (Waynesboro)
2003 Phil Rogers, MD (Dunwoody)
2002 David Matthew Jester, MD (Augusta)
2001 Michelle Nichols, MD (Atlanta)
2000 Harry S. Strothers, III, MD (Atlanta)
1999 Lonnie Fuller, Sr., MD (Atlanta)
1999 Walter Treadwell, MD (Macon)
1998 Kitty Carter-Wicker, MD (Atlanta)
1997 Richard Ackermann, MD (Macon)
1997 Lawrence Lutz, MD (Atlanta)
1996 Patrick Barmore, MD (Thomson)
1995 Linda Walker, MD (Columbus)
1994 George Rust, MD (Atlanta)
1991 Joseph Hobbs, MD (Augusta)
1991 Al J. Mooney, Jr., MD (Statesboro)
1989 Mason P. Thompson, MD (Augusta)
1987 Walter Treadwell, Jr., MD (Atlanta)
1985 Larry Boss, MD (Villa Rica)
1985 Lanny Copeland, MD (Albany)
1985 Ollie McGahee, MD (Jesup)
1985 Robert Smith, MD (Rome)
1984 Joseph Hobbs, MD (Augusta)
1983 Keith Parmer, MD (Rome)
1982 Dee Russell, MD (Rome)